- grants360.com - operated by a scampany called 'Media Ltd' in the United Kingdom
- govgrantsreport.com & grantsreport.net - affiliate-to-scamhole sites operated by a guy in Greece
- Grant Seeker Secrets and many other sites run by a scampany called JRS Media Solutions, located in the Philippines
- Earncashfromgrants.com & Govgrantsdirect.com, operated by a scampany in Cyprus
Customer Service by phone: 1-866-549-6225The US Financial Resources page links to a page at securepaysystems.com (url: https://www.securepaysystems.com/offers/usfr.html), which obviously aroused my curiosity. A Google search for [inurl:securepaystems.com grant] shows some interesting links on page one of the results:
By email: support@usfinancialresources.com
By US Mail: 871 Coronado Center Dr., Suite 200, Henderson, NV 89052
If you look at the terms and conditions of this page, it shows you the regular stuff but it also appears that this specific 'offer' is via grantfundingsource.com and 'membership site' grantfundingsource.net. Here is the homepage of grantfundingsource.com:
eFamily Network Ltd,Interesting. Let's do some Googling [11 Kite Close, Hartford, Huntingdon PE29 1UY, United Kingdom grant] :
11 Kite, Close,
Hartford,
Huntingdon PE29 1UY,
United Kingdom
Wow. The eFamily family of sites has a lot of grant related material it seems. And this is only page one of the Google search results.
A similar search for just the address shows that from the same location - a modest looking duplex in a friendly neighborhood - a company by the name of 'EventCo online Ltd' runs a bunch of porn sites.
Let me remind you, this is a company in the UK creating US Grant related sites specifically targeting US Consumers with the intent to defraud them.
But wait, there's more.
A whois lookup of grantfundingsource.com shows an IP of 209.90.75.101 - for those not in the know that would be the IP address assigned to the server running the site. A web server can run multiple web sites that all resolve to the same IP address, a very common scenario in hosting environments. With an IP to domain lookup tool like this one, you can easily find all domain names that use the same IP address.
I should note that the only thing you can be certain about is that all of the web sites whose domain names appear in the list are using the same IP address; it does not necessarily mean they all belong to the same individual or company. However, it is fairly easy in this case to verify that all the offending domain names belong to the same
I filtered out domain names that have nothing to do with grants. Here is what's left:
Most of the domain names listed are 'dormant' - they redirect to some innocent looking portal. The ones that do work, though, are typical grant scam sites:
And they may have a bunch more, who knows.
Update 03-29-09: Yep, found another one:
Some of these sites appear to differ in terms of monthly fees and specific conditions, others appear to be near-exact copies of the same thing. Somehow they are all interconnected, I could not put my finger on it yet.
So there you have it, another foreign scampany trying to cash in scamming US Consumers.








0 comments:
Post a Comment